BIG changes, Art 4 Refugees and The Bulli Show

My internet connection has been a little unreliable of late so I thought I’d play around with word’s publisher layout to create a pretty newsletter for my followers. I’m really looking forward to the opening night of Art for Refugees on Friday.

 

THE BULLI SHOW

Recently I entered The Bulli Show, something I had never done before. I entered a piece jewellery, a double page of scrap-booking and two mixed media art works. Having your work judged in a show is different to selling in a gallery as it is a competition. Your work is assessed and judged by an expert in a show, in an exhibition the only judge is the red dot and the hearts and wallets of the public, there are no rankings.

As I entered the pavilion I was excited to see if I had won anything, but also interested to see the quality of the other entries, which was exceptionally high. There is so much talent in the Illawarra!

I was so pleased with receiving two “Highly Commended” certificates for my mixed media works, including the orange one above, I squealed with delight. (Something that may not be proper show etiquette). I then saw around the corner that my jewellery had a big blue ribbon attached to it. There is also a pic on my Instagram of the mixed media work “Spring Flower” that I did the afternoon of submission deadline!

My decision to enter a scrap-booking piece was sparked by visiting the Berry Show earlier in the year and seeing that I could probably do better with the skills and experience I had from making ATCs and art journals for Swap-Bot swaps. Most scrappers I know of do pages for their kids. I don’t have kids. I thought that scrapping my 30th birthday last year was a good idea. I used elements from some of the cards that friends and family had given me, photos of the celebrations, stamping, inks, glitter and coloured chalks on matching backing papers to create a cohesive collage.

 

2 thoughts on “BIG changes, Art 4 Refugees and The Bulli Show

Leave a Reply

